Adventure Log: A Bard’s Tale

Hey Everyone! Aldo Hardbottle the Halfling Bard, whom you may remember took extensive notes on our past session, has completed the first portion of an epic tale detailing his party’s adventures. Give it a read, hope you enjoy. Afterwards, I discuss the value of players jumping in and creating stuff in between sessions.

The Bards Tale
By Aldo Hardbottle

The Tale of Our Meeting and the Following Bar Fight

It’s been several days since I left my home,
I gathered my belongings and decided to roam.
I set out in search of fortune and fame
And perhaps win the heart a pretty young dame.

I stumbled along into the town of Oakhurst
And thought to meself, “this place is the worst.”
It cannot compare to my grand city of stone,
Among these locals I may be alone.

I made my way to what passed for a pub.
The Ol’ Boar Inn seemed the local hub,
Of boozers and farmers, of ale and food,
I played my flute in the corner and simply viewed.

At a table in the taproom a lively old man
his story of magic and sheep just began.
A tiefling maid with fliers would tell
The plight of her people, the children of hell.

There were Dwarven locals and Humans from the farm,
Even a Mul, who was heavily armed.
These people laughed at the old man’s tale
One enchanted listener even bought him an ale.

Then something happened that I thought queer
A cleric walked in, a servant of Tyr,
Dressed in his best silks and a noble air
A Drow above ground is awfully rare.

The farmers didn’t like it, not one bit
With liquid courage they threw a fit.
They walked right up to the young noble Drow
And blamed him for the disappearance of their cow.

The Drow was not one to take this abuse,
“You peasants are reeking of booze
Unhand me or you will live to regret
Your foolishness,” he ended his threat.

The old man stood up as though to speak,
He was so old you could hear his bones creak.
“Shalazim Shalazoom!” Was all that was said
“This spell shall be your doom,” his robes began to glow red.

The other farmer looked on in horrible fear,
He ran out the tavern as fleet as a deer,
But his friends were bent on noble destruction,
But I had a plan of beguiling seduction.

It was evident to all that a brawl was near,
I thought a new direction I can this situation steer.
I tootled my flute and winked at the staff,
Then one of the brawlers started to laugh.

The farmer fell to the ground with a resounding flop.
He was laughing at nothing, and he couldn’t stop.
The two dwarves went on undeterred
They didn’t care about the humans, they were not scurd.

The poor tiefling maid tried casting a spell,
But she took a mug to the face, so it didn’t end well.
The dwarves looked at the Drow and went to attack.
The Mul backed him up, but hit the table with a “crack!”

One of the dwarf’s attacks connected,
They were so drunk it was unexpected.
“Blood for Blood!” The noble drow cried
And with great care whacked a dwarf on the side.

The proprietor of the inn pulled out a crossbow
“No one move!” he shouted as some tried to go.
“Think that’s the first time I’ve had a crossbow on me?”
“Don’t be stupid drow,” I gave my plea.

The barman told the trouble makers to leave,
The bar maid began a healing spell to weave.
She healed up the tiefling and gave me a wink,
“Nice work with the magic,” then she bought me a drink.

We sat around boozing and learning about the town.
“You should check old Gunter’s farm,” The barkeep said with a frown.
So Millbee the Wizard, and the noble Drow,
Ahman the Mul, and Starfall sat down for some chow.

Your humble Bard saw an adventure form.
I’ll follow them far and into the storm.
Tomorrow they will set forth from this very inn,
And here my friends is where the story begins.

Halfling_Bard

Hope you all had as much fun reading that as I did! I think this is really neat for a few reasons.

  • It shows some real investment and excitement about the campaign from Aldo’s player, which gets me as a DM excited for our next session.
  • It helps flesh out Aldo as a character and gives more ways that the player is interacting and immersed in the world. This also helps Aldo’s player grow more invested in his character, which helps the character grow and evolve with the game.
  • Writing it forces Aldo to reflect on the session, and any of my other players that read it will also reflect on the game, which can only be a good thing.
  • As a DM it is nice to see a player putting in some work in between sessions, since I am expected to plan in between sessions :).
  • It’s fun, and anything fun, but within the tone of the game, can only enhance the experience.

I have had a few other players invest time in between sessions. Legon, my cowardly Rogue, made an inspirational speech for his guild. This was shown through a series of clips from inspirational speeches in movies, stitched together in a fun way that made sense for the game. Aldo’s player also in the past came to a session when playing as a Lawful Good Monk with a list of proverbs, which he used throughout the session. One final example, after a particularly difficult fight in an epic level campaign, which had our entire group stumped, my Uncle came to the next session with a complicated solution, involving graphs, equations, and 15 minutes of preparation spells (I will tell this story sometime in the near future).

One thing to take notice of is that none of this player creations were perfect. The players worked hard on them, and they were excellent and fun, but they weren’t award winning. This is important because I honestly think anyone willing to take the time can find ways to enhance the game through some in between session work :). When in doubt, discuss your idea with your DM (as all my players did) before telling others, or getting too deep into the work. Of course don’t try to force material, but when you see a hesitation, don’t hesitate to ask and create!

One thought on “Adventure Log: A Bard’s Tale

  1. Bravo! That was excellent.

    I’ve had players draw maps, paint portraits of their characters, write up funny story recaps and the like. It’s always great and I always welcome the chance to add that extra flavor to the game.

    Also, as Jake noted, the DM puts in a ton of work to run a game. It’s great to see the players putting some effort in too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

